The Parish of Knapton

The parish of Knapton lies within a rural area of North Norfolk designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Just a mile from the beautiful North Norfolk coast and surrounded by open farmland, the parish nestles between six other parishes;

  • Mundesley
  • Paston
  • Edingthorpe
  • North Walsham
  • Trunch
  • Swafield

The best way to explore the Quiet Lanes that criss-cross this picturesque area is either by bicycle or, to really get the most from the beautiful views and the clean fresh air, on foot.

Knapton Parish Council

Made up entirely of parishioners, the Parish Council is the first tier of local government for the parish of Knapton in North Norfolk, a rural area centred on the village of Knapton. Seven Councillors are elected, or co-opted, every four years to represent the interests of their fellow residents of the village. The Council meets on a monthly basis in Knapton Village Hall to discuss the operation and upkeep of Parish Council facilities, as well providing representation on a variety of other local issues.

Parish Councillors are volunteers and come from various backgrounds. Each year the Council elects a Chairman and Vice-Chairman to oversee the conduct of meetings. The Council employs a Parish Clerk whose primary role is to advise the Councillors, report on activities, produce minutes of the meetings, deal with correspondence and maintain the Council’s finances.

Anyone interested in becoming a Parish Councillor should contact the Parish Clerk to ascertain whether there are any vacancies and to check out the North Norfolk District Council website for more details. The next Parish Council Elections will be held in May, 2023.

Higher Tiers of Government
Currently, Knapton falls within;

  • the Mundesley Division of Norfolk County Council
  • Trunch Ward of North Norfolk District Council
  • the North Norfolk parliamentary constituency
  • and the Eastern UK constituency of the European Parliament.

Council Funding
The Council is funded in two ways;

  • by income generated from the precept which is the money collected from village taxpayers as a part of the Council tax bill issued by North Norfolk District Council
  • and money raised by the Parish Council through its own activities, principally, the rental of allotments.

What is the Council
Local parishioners working for the good of the parish

  • the council comprises of seven councillors, including the Chairman and Vice-Chairman
  • each one has their own specific role that they focus on
  • when required, the Chairman may ask several councillors to form a committee to work as a team on a larger project or issue
Meetings & Minutes

Parish Meetings
The Parish Council usually meets on the first Tuesday of every month in the Village Hall at 7.30pm, and the last action at every meeting is to agree the date of the next meeting.

Since we don’t usually meet in August and December and very occasionally meeting times may alter we recommend that you check the Event Calendar for the next meeting date, or go to the Minutes page and download the agenda as well.

We also post a copy of the agenda on the noticeboard next to the telephone kiosk in The Street three, or more, working days before the meeting.

The press are also welcome to attend.

The Annual Parish Meeting usually takes place on the same day as the regular parish council meeting every May, starting at 7.oopm.

Have your say
In the interest of openness and transparency we encourage our parishioners to attend our meetings and bear witness to the discussions.   Although the public cannot get intervene during the meeting (unless invited to do so by the Chairman) there is a public forum at the end of each meeting when they are invited to address the Council and raise any issues they may have.

Parish Councillors
Peter Neatherway (Chairman)
11 Lawn Close, Knapton, Norfolk NR28 0SD
Mobile: 07795 014968
Responsible for: Website Development
Pat Lee (Vice Chair)
12 Lawn Close, Knapton, Norfolk NR28 0SD
Tel: (01263) 721 335
Responsible for: Allotments
Mrs Dee Holroyd (Parish Clerk)
Verbena Cottage, The Street, Knapton, Norfolk NR28 0AD
Tel: (01263) 720 356
Alan Young
Old Hall Barn, Hall Lane, Knapton, Norfolk NR28 0SG
Tel: (01263) 721 544
Responsible for: Bacton Gas Terminal & Planning Applications
 Andrew Claydon
The Bungalow, Hall Lane, Knapton, Norfolk, NR28 0SG
Tel: (01263) 720 482  Mobile: 07785 716078
Responsible for: MADRA
John Lawton
Green Farm, Paston, Norfolk, NR28
Tel: (01263) 720 713
Responsible for: Community Liaison & Social Media
David Bishop-Laggett
Maybank, Hall lane, Knapton, Norfolk, NR28 0RZ
Tel: (01263) 721 161
Email: Non.
Responsible for: Millenium Field Development
Elizabeth (Liz) Winter
18 Lawn Close, Knapton, Norfolk, NR28 0SD
Responsible for:
Right Hon, Mr Norman Lamb
Right Hon, Mr Norman LambMember of Parliament
Re-elected as the Member of Parliament for the constituency of North Norfolk in May 2017

Unit 4, The Garden Centre, Nursery Drive, Norwich Road, North Walsham, NR28 0DR

Tel: (01692) 403 752
Fax: (01692) 500818

Dr Edward Maxfield
Dr Edward MaxfieldNorfolk County Councillor
Elected as the representative of the Mundesley Division of Norfolk County Council in May 2017.

9a Mundesley Road, North Walsham, Norfolk, NR28 0DA

Tel: 07449 706215 (Mobile)
Tel: 01692 403752 (Work)

Mr Greg Hayman
Mr Greg Hayman North Norfolk District Councillor
Elected as the Member of North Norfolk District Council for Trunch Ward (Antingham Parish, Gimingham Parish, Knapton Parish, Swafield Parish, Trunch Parish) in May 2019.

North Norfolk District Council, Holt Road, Cromer, Norfolk, NR27 9EN